To prestige or not….I’m thinking not.

Modern Warfare 2 Prestige Badges

Modern Warfare 2 Prestige Badges

For those people who are new to Modern Warfare 2 or the Call of Duty series once you reach a certain level (in the case of MW2 it’s level 70) you have the option to lose all the weapons, perks and attachments that you’ve unlocked and start again from level 1. But you get a new symbol, one new custom class for every other prestige (1, 3, 5, etc), and the ability to unlock new titles……is that worth it?

I played Call of Duty 4 (Modern Warfare) but at the time I wasn’t really into it, nor had the time, so didn’t actually get the opportunity to prestige – I was planning on doing so, but then the xbox360 had the red ring of death and I got the PS3 instead. At the time of writing, I’m level 68 and have been playing since early January so it’ll probably take roughly two months per prestige if I was to do it.

The life cycle of Modern Warfare was roughly two years before MW2 came out so there would theoretically be enough time to go through at least one prestige, but can I really be bothered with starting from zero again? It took me long enough to unlock all the ghillie suits (300 one shot kills). I’ve unlocked killstreaks that I haven’t even accomplished yet, and currently I don’t think I’m ever going to get the 25 killstreak required to call in the nuke.

Ofcourse it’s great having all the messages popping up on screen when you get a certain achievement or promotion. But I hate being the noob level. I couldn’t wait to unlock claymores, Ninja Pro and Cold Blooded Pro and I’m not sure if I could play without them. I would prefer the prestige to give you the option to keep one unlockable weapon and one unlockable perk to be going on with. Another thing is the match making, once you prestige it’s going to match you more with higher prestige levels – and I’m really not that good. It’s bad enough being matched with multi-prestige levels as it is.

I think I’m going to create a new PSN account and try it from level 1 to see if I can handle not having any equipment. If it’s okey dokey then I’ll consider prestiging, but if I spend my time being bent over and intruded then I’m not doing it.

What do you think?

Peas and loaves.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE

Leave a Reply

