Got Douche?

There are certain milestones that people can aim for in the pursuit of fame and celebrity. The pinnacle being shot by a crazed stalker who is trying to impress Jodie Foster – you know you’ve arrived when that happens. On the lower scheme of things there’s the balance of fan mail and hate mail.

And then there’s YouTube.

Pretty much anyone can become “YouTube famous” as OnlyUseMeBlade calls it. The Internet, and YouTube in particular can be a fairly nasty old place – practically full to bursting with keyboard warriors waiting to flame the weak. If YouTube was an imaginary place from a film, it would be Mos Eisley Cantina from Star Wars.

You'd better watch it - he's on twenty three block lists!


I got my first taste of YouTube hate on my channel yesterday – and I’m not even YouTube popular. It made me so happy 🙂 A little rainbow inside lit up with the knowledge that I was entering the realms of SeaNanners – not bad for having less than a thousand channel views. I’m obviously on the first rung of the YouTube stardom ladder!

So here’s the diddley-oh:

I’m old enough, and been around online communities long enough to deal with the denizens of Mos Eisley. In general it doesn’t bother me if someone attempts to be disparaging about me, or what I do as it can usually be turned into something positive – or amusing. But I’m not willing to allow behaviour like that go unchecked. Adding to the block list is the most effective way of dealing with it.

Back on the Topic topic….I’ve put together a quick check list to illustrate the level of stardom you (or I) may have attained at any given time. It’ll be useful for you if you don’t know whether you do need to book in to a hotel under the name of Pendergast, or wear dark glasses to go to McDonald’s:

  • Start channel/blog/website
  • Get first visitor(s)
  • Receive first comment(s)
  • Receive first subscriber(s)
  • Have more Subscribers than posts/uploads
  • Get first “hate” comment
  • First “FIRST!” comment
  • First defence from random person against “hate” comments
  • Dual Commentary/Partnership Link thing
  • Get featured somewhere
  • Hear people mention you offline
  • Get recognised in the street
  • Get shot by crazed stalker

*Hooray – you’re famous!*

They’re not necessarily in the order in which they’ll actually occur, but the more you can tick off the closer you are to fame. A word of warning though – if you are shot by a crazed stalker, you’re only famous if they are YOUR stalker – cases of mistaken identity don’t count.

Have I missed any steps on the stardom ladder?

Peas and loaves.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE


One thought on “Got Douche?

  1. Pingback: Weekly-ish Update #4 « evaDlivE Blog

Leave a Reply

