There’s no KDR in TEAM (BFBC2)

In my quest to level up I was able to join in Geoff’s gaming session tonight. Although I had my headset charged, I didn’t have the mic on and in order to turn it on I would have had to exit the game, go into the PS3 settings yada yada yada….. So I fill Geoff in on the situation and we were joined by two other guys – Minato88 and another guy who dropped off the Recently Met list before I could send him a Friend Request. Anyway, I was running medic and the other guys were assault and engineer classes.

Now I’d love to tell you the names of the maps, but they’re lost on me. It was by the sea – that should narrow it down. So we’re getting all Black Hawk Down on the enemy with Geoff piloting and doing some serious flybys. No serious killing though – plenty of hit markers, but no kills for me. On assault we were victorious, and it went downhill from there.

Not because we stink, but because the other squads seemed to have forgotten the objective of the game. Similar to the issue of selfish bastards in Modern Warfare 2 not capturing flags in Domination we found ourselves hopelessly outgunned as our “team mates” played with themselves in the shacks. As a “team” we got fairly annihilated. But to prove that our squad did our bit we got a nice pin:

Top Squad - yup, that's us.

Geoff had to leave after that and so the three of us soldiered on….. but it was the same again. The three of us attempting to hold it together. When we were at the final defence base the enemy were sending the tanks. There was also a guy with an M60 basically mowing us down from half a mile away – it is indeed a powerful weapon, he may as well have been wielding Dr. Evil’s laser cannon! So, I decided to run away. Sort of…..

I ran all the way to the enemy base in search of a helicopter – taking out a sniper on the way (filthy beast). When I reach the base there’s no helicopter…… fiddle sticks! Right, better make my way back then and maybe I can shoot some people in the back. Over the headset I can hear my squadmates calling out various crap that’s hitting the fan. And I would imagine they were wondering where I was too…. But the gods of war were benevolently looking down on me (or maybe they just fancied a laugh). On the way back I hit the second enemy spawn base and a beautiful sight – an AH60.

So here’s my skill level with helicopters – take off: okay, flying: passable, landing: FAIL! But something needed to be done, even if it was a morale boosting cavalry suicide charge. I chop-chop-chopper my way to the battle and as I get closer I can see the green of my squad mates. I do my best to the control the helicopter low enough with a view to land, but I hear one of the guys on the mic saying something along the lines of “The other guy’s got a helicopter and I’ve just jumped on….”. Thankfully, he’d managed to pull some inhuman feat of agility and got on board and was going to work with the mini gun.

He kept having to change sides though as I’m rubbish at controlling the helicopter. The cavalry charge was short lived, but fun as we got shot out of the air. No matter. It couldn’t have gotten any worse. We lost that one too, but not for the want of trying. That was the last game I played with those guys as they split off. Thanks guys – it was great to play in a proper squad.

But here was the thing. The reason we lost was because no one was playing the objective except for us. There could be three or four guys around a planted bomb site and they wouldn’t even attempt a disarm! They couldn’t even cover us when we tried for the disarm! This was never more clear to me than when I joined another game and decided to squad up with some randoms. Those randoms stayed at the spawn, sniping – and not doing a very good job either. How do I know? Because I came top of my team’s leaderboard, and if I’m top then something reeks of haddock:

Top of the tree - because the other guys were monkeys

If you have no intention of participating in the objective then don’t play an objective game type. And don’t give me that bullshit about “defending” or “supporting the team” – if you’re sat at the spawn point with a sniper rifle then you’re doing neither; you’re whoring your KDR! How hard is it to choose a Squad Deathmatch? Obviously it’s as much trouble for some people to choose Deathmatch as it is for them to play the objective.

But on a plus note – thanks to Geoff and the other two guys. I also unlocked the defibrillator – woohoo.

Peas and loaves.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.


10 thoughts on “There’s no KDR in TEAM (BFBC2)

  1. Awesome to get top of the rung! I agree about the other squad mates… A very strong squad will negate the other non objective players in many cases, but it still happens.. And get that mic working for next time 😉

    DICE need to fix up the multiplayer and private match lobbies.. (like allow two squads of friends to join a game on the same team etc.. or have options to play on opposite teams.

    • Sounds like you had a great time! I’m wishing I was online last night now! I did have a few good games myself after work because my son fell asleep too early but it was on Xbox.

      I didn’t get many kills and I think for once all my team played objectively. I’d love to say I fought hard but I didn’t see the enemy that often apart from close combat defending our bases. Got lots of heals and revives in though!

      I can’t wait to get the composite cable. I’m pleasantly surprised at how well I’m getting used to the PS3 controller. 🙂

      • It would have been better if I had my mic on. Next time will be different. I didn’t get on until after 10pm though, which is actually early for me.

        Well done on your decent games, I think that when I don’t have a squad I’m just going to play death match though.

    • I think EA/Dice made quite a large error in the lack of instructions they provided – plus the omission of being able to setup a gametype on your own to go and have a play on the maps and equipment. Being able to practice would stop things like the guy on the last round you were in trying to fly the Hind upside down….with me in it!

      One issue I have with the mic is that I can’t mute it, so I’m going to have to mess around with it to make sure it’s not picking up the speaker volume – there’s nothing worse than hearing the game from the perspective of someone else’s crackly mic.

      • The manual could have been much better, but I bet they have a “Guide to BC2” somewhere you can buy for 20 quid!

        Did you ever think of getting a headset? It doesn’t have to be expensive but a relatively cheap stereo one with a mic. It will help your gameplay, and not annoy the rest of your family with late night play! Yeah, another hit on your hauppage fund!

  2. No one should have to buy a game guide to learn how to do the most basic of things….like choosing a game type and setting up your weapons – or even how to use weapons. But until EA produce a prope free manual I’ll watch Geoff’s vids 🙂

    The problem with a headset is that I can only use headphones is when everone has gone to bed. If I wait until then to play then both you and Geoff will be offline in most cases 😦

    But if I have my mic on at an earlier time then you’ll probably end up being a party to the beatiful moments in my house: “Phew-weeeee the baby stinks! You can change that one!…” and the various off-topic conversations: “Do you want a cup of tea because you’re not doing very well….”

    I need to find a mic that I can mute when I’m not doing game talk – that was ONE plus for the Xbox gaming headset.

    • The Battlefield series is absolutely fantastic, but I hear your frustration. It makes a huge difference when you find a server full of dedicated players who want to work together to get something done. Thanks for the interesting article.

      Here’s my piece on homeless gaming as well as a link to the unofficial Battlefield 2142 tactical comic I created.

      http://bit.ly/8XVHhc

  3. Pingback: Weekly-ish Update #4 « evaDlivE Blog

  4. When DICE first released the BFBC2 BETA, everyone were saying things like, “BFBC2 is not like MW2! You can’t play RAMBO, you need TEAMWORK.”

    But now I see…

    [No flaming! I AM A BFBC2 FANBOY!]

Leave a Reply

