YouTube Copyright Strike Response

I recently posted about my first copyright strike on YouTube. In it I said that I’d emailed YouTube to see if they would revisit the decision to place a strike on my account.

This is the reply I received:

Dear David,

Thanks for your inquiry. We’re glad you take copyright laws seriously —
YouTube does too. In general, you must be certain that your video doesn’t
infringe someone else’s copyright before you upload it to our site. We
cannot make this determination for you, as it’s your responsibility to
know the rules. To help you, we suggest you refer to our Copyright Tips at
http://www.youtube.com/t/howto_copyright. There, we’ve provided some
guidelines and links to help you determine whether your video infringes
someone else’s copyright.

Sincerely,

The YouTube Team

So the answer is ‘no’. They take copyright very seriously /putting on serious nodding face/. But there you go, there’s still plenty of versions of the trailer available on YouTube….. did I say ‘version’, my mistake: there are plenty of copies of the trailer available on YouTube if you want to see the trailer. Copyright on YouTube: it’s srs bsns!

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE

Player Info


4 thoughts on “YouTube Copyright Strike Response

  1. Pingback: My First Copyright Strike « evaDlivE Blog

  2. You might like this post I found. It’s not quite the same as it deals with wrongful take downs.

    In the best tradition of offering an opinion on a blog without researching the subject, I haven’t actually watched the videos! 🙂

    • I was actually thinking about the response I got and then realised that they didn’t actually answer my question about the jurisdiction.

      I am going to follow it up and ask them if they are sure it’s TCF who sent the copyright notice, and not some random guy ala DarkSydePhil’s saga.

      Thanks for the link as well, I’ll check it later.

  3. Pingback: Weekly-ish Update #7 « evaDlivE Blog

Leave a Reply

