Teeny Tiny Blupdate

Just a couple of quick bits that have cropped up over the past couple of days/week.

Random Apologies
When I turned on the PS3 for the first time in about a week on Friday (I think it was Friday). There was a message waiting for me. Okay, let’s see what it is. A message from some random guy whose name I didn’t recognise. Messages of that type usually fit in to two categories: Hate or Love.

So what did it say? Was it “u noob u suck go die inna fire”, or “gg thanks”? Actually, it was surprisingly neither. There was only a subject line which simply said “I’m sorry, dude”. So, a message from some guy who I don’t know, and don’t remember being in game with apologising for something that I didn’t even know had happened. Either he’s messaged the wrong person, or did something in game that outraged his sensibilities so much he had to apologise for it for his own peace of mind.

I decided to reply: “Hi, I don’t know what you’re apologising for, but…..okay. And I’m sorry too (just in case)”. No response back so I’m not sure what it was all about, but it should be sorted now, and consciences eased.

Ludicrous Search Terms
Regular readers know how I love stats and search terms and the like. I especially enjoy anomalous entries. A couple of doozies over the past couple of days:

‘wife humiliated’ – not something that I can say I’ve ever searched for on the Internet…. but it takes all sorts. Sniper Humiliation/Wife Humiliated…. doesn’t really fit, unless your wife is a sniper…. and humiliated. You shouldn’t be wanting to humiliate your wife anyway, or anyone else’s wife. If that’s your thing though….. seek help.

‘seananners cat’ – I’m fairly sure that SeaNanners cat picture is not actually his cat, or if it is then he’s slipping it something other than kibble…. I don’t think he has a cat anyway. Having an ambivalent ball of furry hatred that sits on the kitchen counter licking its “special place” while staring at you does not sound like the sort of thing that Mr Nanners would have in his house.

but my favouritest favourite term that caught my eye was this:

‘hot bfbc2 chicks’ …..seriously? The mind boggles. People actually search things like that and expect to find some sort of BFBC2 site dedicated to gaming vixens? I think it’s time that people realised that there are no women on the internet, and definitely no female gamers. Think mermaids. Sailors, surrounded by men in a manly testosterone environment dream of meeting a mermaid while doing manly things. They see one, leap off the ship and swim to the rock to be with their ethereal beloved, only to find it’s a pissed off elephant seal. That’s the internet. If you’re looking for women do it the old fashioned way.

And talking of women….

Demographics
The YouTube demographics is a bit of pain in the bum. Unlike the wordpress stats which seem to be a snapshot for right now, the YouTube stats only show events after they have happened. Historically the visitors to my YouTube channel that have their status set to ‘female’ (because we already know there are no women on the internet) has stayed at around about 4-6%.

That would actually fit in with the demographic for female FPS gamers who visit YouTube. But when I checked on Monday (I don’t check things like that every day) the female demographic had dipped to 2% for some indeterminate period. There had been a spike in views after Donncha posted one of my vids to Reddit so that could account for the change in the stats (I don’t think there are a lot of ladies on Reddit). However, I had a look there today and suddenly the demographic is 79% male and 21% female. That’s a huge leap, a change of +19% (and an increase of 15% on the average) in a couple of days is fairly significant!

Even more surprising is the predominant age group. The only conclusion I can come to is that I’ve suddenly turned in to the Daniel O’Donnell of the gaming community. But as with all stats, they never tell the whole story so we’ll just have to wait and see how the demographics settle down over the next week.

Oh Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling…..

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE

Player Info


2 thoughts on “Teeny Tiny Blupdate

  1. Pingback: Weeklyish Update #10 « evaDlivE Blog

Leave a Reply

