(POLL) Forget Pay-to-Play, How About Pay-to-Boost?

I recently trimmed down my subscriptions list on YouTube to cut out more boosters. I didn’t do it on a whim as it meant removing some guys who I genuinely like as people, but can’t swallow the weak “reasons” they give to legitimise boosting. Currently I’m thinking I shouldn’t have bothered, because after all the other DLC ‘squeeze the punter until they squeak’ bovine manure that has slowly crept in recently, the biscuit has now not only been taken, but we, the consumer are also expected to pick up the tab.

I don’t mind admitting it – my knickers are well and truly in a twist. That wouldn’t normally be a problem as tight underwear can be comforting, but they’re being worn by a really grumpy gorilla who’s mislaid his Preparation-H. So, apeshit would be a more accurate term to describe how I feel about game publishers right now, especially DICE/EA. I’ve previously touched on my historical disdain for EA and their moneygrabbing ways…. but it seems it’s catching.

Donncha posted on his blog earlier about EA/DICE not only charging for the Onslaught co-op mode (you know, the sort of gametype that has been standard on…. ohhhh pretty much every game ever made), but also from June 16th people will no longer have to play the game and gain experience to unlock the weapons and specs – they can simply pay DICE some cash and bish bash bosh: instant expert. Apparently it’s to help out those people who don’t have the time to get the unlocks…. IF THEY DON’T HAVE THE TIME TO UNLOCK STUFF, THEN THEY OBVIOUSLY DON’T HAVE THE TIME TO PLAY THE GAME IN THE FIRST PLACE!

On the EA blog post (via) comments there it’s currently about 98% negative. Will EA/DICE respond to the community or chase the dollar. Are they really going to legitimise boosting in return for thirty pieces of silver? Up until a couple of days ago, those people who received things they didn’t work for in game were referred to as cheating douchebag boosters, but now they are “consumers”?! Being that this is EA that we’re on about I’m guessing that the dollar will win…. but you never know, and I would love to be wrong.

But I was thinking – am I off on the deep end here? Am I just a stubborn old goat who needs to move with the times, or am I a pissed of consumer who is fed up with getting the shaft and then being made to feel like I should be grateful for something that should have been included in the first place (and that doesn’t just apply to gaming)?

So I’m putting up a couple of polls. I’d like YOUR feedback. The polls are anonymous – I only see the results, I don’t get to see who voted what, so on those more “controversial” questions rest assured you won’t get any grief. The polls should also be accessible to all visitors (but I’ll test that out…).

Be completely honest. Vote for what matches your views as closely as possible. This isn’t about following the crowd, I’d like a snapshot of how you peeps, the visitors and regulars here actually perceive the following issues. As usual I’ll be abstaining from the votes – you all know how I feel on these issues:

Thanks for your input as always.

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE

Player Info


3 thoughts on “(POLL) Forget Pay-to-Play, How About Pay-to-Boost?

  1. I just realised something. Yes, those that buy the kits will have an unfair advantage over those that don’t, and haven’t unlocked the weapons. But they’ll also, through sheer luck and firepower, do better because they have those weapons and thus will increase their skill levels much more quickly than a regular player.

    Once their skill level goes up they’ll be put in games with more skilled players who know the maps and then they’re f*cked, and they’ll get ripped apart! 🙂

    • They’ll also instantly have access to things like body armour, magnum ammo and alt fire for the vehicles.

      People who complain about the bullshit deaths in MW2 might actually be on to something, especially when you get some level 0 div hiding in a bush with an M60 and magnum ammo because they boosted (legitimately or not, that’s what it is).

  2. Pingback: Weeklyish Update #10 « evaDlivE Blog

Leave a Reply

