Why Does YouTube Ignore Copyright Queries?

Back in May I received a copyright strike against my account. Ironically it was from 20th Century Fox (allegedly) and was due to my mistaken belief that I was uploading a Robert Rodriguez trailer as part of a viral advertising campaign. So I now have what would appear to be a permanent strike on my account that I can do nothing about. This appears to be the case as copyright@youtube.com is ignoring my emails to them. It’s not as if I’m sending them abuse – I’m only after the information that THEY say I should request in the event of a strike against an account.

So here’s the history so far in case you missed it:


(I’ve since reuploaded one of the “infringing” works and counter filed….but not received a response on that either!)

My first email to YouTube:

8th May 2010

Dear Copyright at YouTube

Can you please inform me as to which jurisdiction the copyright claim against video ID: 26nKRtaTbNQ

I would also like to dispute the sanction against my account. Although I do not claim any ownership of the video I did upload it in good faith under the impression that I was participating in a “viral” campaign with the permission of the copyright holders. This was due to it’s inclusion and message here – http://www.aintitcool.com/node/44943

Obviously I now know this is not the case and have deleted the infringing video.

I would appreciate it if you would reconsider the copyright strike on my account, or at the very least acknowledge that you have received and understood my reason for uploading the copyrighted material (without prejudice).

Regards

David Nicol

Autoresponse received the same day, and the on the 13th May 2010:

Dear David,

Thanks for your inquiry. We’re glad you take copyright laws seriously —
YouTube does too. In general, you must be certain that your video doesn’t
infringe someone else’s copyright before you upload it to our site. We
cannot make this determination for you, as it’s your responsibility to
know the rules. To help you, we suggest you refer to our Copyright Tips at
http://www.youtube.com/t/howto_copyright. There, we’ve provided some
guidelines and links to help you determine whether your video infringes
someone else’s copyright.

Sincerely,

The YouTube Team

Okay…. thanks for the response ‘YouTube Team’…. how about you actually answer the query?

Sent the same day in response:

Hi

I’d appreciate it if you answered the specific question in my first email:

-Can you please inform me as to which jurisdiction the copyright claim against video ID: 26nKRtaTbNQ was made

Additionally, can you check to make sure that the copyright claim was actually made by someone on behalf Twentieth Century Fox and not some random Steve Jones type person.

Thanks

David Nicol

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
May gives way to June and still no response…. at all. So:

4th June 2010

Hi

I have still not received a response regarding this query. As we both take copyright very seriously it would seem pertinent that these queries are resolved.

I’d also like to know at what point a copyright “strike” can be removed from an account – and under what circumstances this can be done.

David Nicol

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

June becomes July and still nothing, no automated responses, nothing!

9th July 2010

It is now two months since I first contacted you and have so far received no reasonable response to my queries – in fact I have only received one response so far and that was in May! This is wholly unacceptable.

I now require you to answer the following questions without further delay/dismissal:

– in which jurisdiction the copyright claim against video ID: 26nKRtaTbNQ made
– who actually made the claim (were they actually someone with authority to make the claim, or simply someone masquerading as a copyright holder(e.g. “Steve Jones”)?
– is a copyright strike permanent, and under what circumstances can it be removed?

Regards

David Nicol

The thing that gets me is that the Machete Trailer is STILL up – the version from aintitcool, the version I uploaded is still available on YouTube from many different uploaders. In fact here it is here:

codaddict1000 has 76,656 views on it at the time of writing and states in the description: “I do not own the rights to this youtube video , this is a trailer strickly ment to show everybody what mechete is . i again do not own the right to “machete 2010 trailer

So what’s going on? On my channel it was up for a couple of days until it got about 5000 views and then it got hit. TheShape031 managed to get to 10,000 views before his was yanked and I’m sure there are others with similar stories. But the issue is YouTube not being forthcoming with the information I’m requesting so that I can decide whether or not to bother challenging the strike.

If Fox made a boo-boo and stuck the boot in in error then surely I, and everyone else, should be able to have their strikes removed. If it wasn’t Fox then the strike should definitely be removed. But I can only find this out if YouTube actually fulfil their remit!

To be honest, I’m confused. Usually if a company is not going to respond on certain email account you receive nothing. Sometimes you get an automated response and nothing else. But to get a fairly coherent if pointless response and then nothing is really odd…..

Peas and loaves

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE


One thought on “Why Does YouTube Ignore Copyright Queries?

  1. Pingback: Weeklyish Update #13 « evaDlivE Blog

Leave a Reply

