*NSFW* So I Threw My Toys Out of the Pram

I’d always said to myself that I wouldn’t put out a rant video. What’s the point right? Moaning just makes you a moaner. Well, over the past couple of days I’ve gotten more and more frustrated with the crap that’s going on in the community and on YouTube. And not saying anything is the same as actually saying that what is going on is okay. Well, it’s not.

The Battlefield community on the whole is great. Pretty much everyone knows who everyone is, even if they don’t know them personally, or have gotten in game with them they’re aware of their existence, and for the most part everyone is supportive of each other and their play styles. This is mainly because unlike Modern Warfare 2, for example, there is not one single way to play BFBC2. It’s ACTUALLY a team game, so the person at the top of the leader boards, or with the best stats is not necessarily a reflection of their contribution to the objective (you don’t get any points for using smoke, being a spawn point, or using the Blackhawk as a taxi for example).

What made me blow a gasket was the whole “My stats are awesome, your stats are not, therefore you suck, I rock and everything you ever do is invalid compared to my obviously superior opinion” attitude that some people have. It’s unfortunate that that attitude gets so many followers because it creates situations where people care more about their stupid stats than they do about actually playing to win.

So here’s the thing, I’d been having a great run of games with the guys I game with regularly and at least one other squad was made of people from around and about the community. But as time went on it was just our squad and a load of randoms. When it came to attacking on Arica Harbour the game took 50 minutes! Admittedly the defenders were pretty good, but we should not have lost. We wouldn’t have if the rest of the team had actually played the objective instead of sitting in the spawn massaging their KDR!

Then the next day I saw a video where the commentator not only denigrated another commentator for having lower stats than him, but then proceeded to declare that he himself was absolutely awesome at the game while he…… massaged his KDR. He did NOTHING for his team. Skulking around and getting kills while the rest of his “team” did all the work. So not only did maintain his obviously superior stats, he also gained a win off the work of others. This preaching about stats, and ‘watch me not help my team in any meaningful way’ creates a mindset in people who believe the bullshit that their stats are some sort of currency. It’s not. Stats mean nothing if you’re more concerned about protecting them than you are in playing the objective properly.

So something needed to be said. I went against my promise to myself, but I’ve had enough of this bullshit. And I’ve had enough of people believing their own bullshit. Although more paradoxical and frustrating is when people excuse, or make excuses for these people. I’ve heard it all from “Oh, but they’re being forthright”, to “they’re having a bad time, he’s just misunderstood”…. bullshit.

Douchebag is as douchebag does. I know many people who are damned sight more forthright, and I know many people in worse situations, but the difference is that they’re not arseholes who need to douche on others for their own….. what? Ego? Self esteem? Pleasure?

Bah! Whatever, YouTube drama – HOORAY! And I fully expect to lose some subscribers after my rant video – but that’s fine because I know who the people are who’ll stick around, and they are who my channel is for. It’s not there, I’m definitely not here, to massage egos or suck up to other people. It’s for gamers who have a life and actually go outside.

Oh, and while we’re on the subject of Youtube, stats and bullshit allow me to let you in on my attitude to YouTube: I don’t care about YouTube. YouTube is a convenient place to put my vids, that is all. Recently there’s been someone thumbing down my vids – I don’t know why. It could be that I banned them on Hupit, but it could be for pretty much any reason. Well here’s a message regarding my attitude to the thumbs/rating system on YouTube:

Yes, I thumbed down my own video. I’d thumb down all my videos to get my message across if I thought it would actually make a difference.

Yes, I’ve sort of thrown my toys out of my pram. Am I proud of myself? Not particularly, but I sure feel a whole lot better.

And so, my parting shot. If you go about being an arsehole then you have to expect some of that come back at you. Only someone who is incredibly mentally deficient would fail to grasp that. To put it simply – you reap what you sow.

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE


David Nicol is Articles Editor for hupitgaming.com, YouTube gaming commentator and blogger based in the UK.

6 thoughts on “*NSFW* So I Threw My Toys Out of the Pram

  1. <3~

    I agree people who think that just because they have better stats then you makes them better then you is a wanker.

    BTW,
    In the rant video when you were talking about the stats about the gun you were using, was that a insult to XboxAhoy?

    I'm just saying this because he has a British accent and does gun reviews and what not.

  2. Great rant David! You do realise I may go looking for said complaining video now just to see what that a**hole said?

    I watched his last video where he talked through playing a medic role properly. All I saw was him camping behind the lines with his LMG, hardly reviving anyone, if at all, and certainly not putting down health packs where it mattered.

    Appreciate the shout out about using smoke too. Those games the other night spamming the smoke grenades were some of the most enjoyable I’d played in a long time! We kicked butt! I may well run with “extra grenades” more often.

  3. Pingback: David’s Stats Rant « Gamertag: xeer2000

  4. What a great video, love it. My favourite bit is where you really sound like you know what you’re talking about, you give us specs, statistics then announce that you haven’t a clue and explained how you got all of this from Google.

    You prove exactly what you are saying in that minute or so. Excellant and not only that, it made me laugh and whilst I’m not sure thats what you mean’t to do, it sure made my day

    Keep up the great work mate!!

Leave a Reply

