Who Needs Mainstream Anyway?

I thought I could run my channel without music, or at least without using any full length tracks…. but I was wrong. I’ve been putting together a roadkill vid (all from the same match so not a montage) which I am intending to commentate, but there were some bits that needed a bit of musical accompaniment. Not only that, I just miss editing clips to music.

Previously I’ve used small bits of royalty free music (my current intro music is from partnersinrhyme.com) but so far the choice has been pretty limited and tracks are generally a bit….. insipid. Then earlier today (it’s a Snow Day today so I’ve punctuating my day between work and intertubes) I searched for ‘Creative Commons Music’ rather than ‘Royalty Free Music’ – I’m not sure why I never did that before!

Well, there’s loads out there. In fact I’m surprised by how much – all these really talented individuals putting their musical work out there for others to share and use….. for free (who’da thunk it!). After recent events I’d lost faith a little bit in the music scene, but my faith has been rekindled.

As such I’m embracing all these people and will be exclusively using Creative Commons Music in my videos from now on. If you’re also a video editor then I encourage you to do the same by using Creative Commons Music. Not only are you benefiting (by not having your vids blocked in Germany for one, but also removing the risks of Copyright strikes against your channel), you’re also helping them get known. There’s music for all occasions including this track which is very Prodigy-esque:

http://widgets.jamendo.com/en/track/?playertype=2008&track_id=108580Royalty-free music for professional licensing

Here’s a great link to Creative Commons Music sites (as always – these are direct links, I DO NOT get anything if you visit them):

http://creativecommons.org/legalmusicforvideos

And lastly, some advice from Creative Commons themselves regarding the music usage:

Can I use any song with a CC license on it?

Almost — you need to make sure that what you want to do with the music is OK under the terms of the particular Creative Commons license it’s under. CC-licensed music isn’t free for all uses, only some — so make sure to check out the terms (you can find these by clicking on each song’s license icon).

Most importantly, you need to use music that is not licensed under a No Derivative Works license. This means that the musician doesn’t want you to change, transform, or make a derivative work using their music. Under CC licenses, synching the music to images amounts to transforming the music, so you can’t legally use a song under a CC No Derivative Works license in your video.

Also, make sure to properly credit the musician and the track, as well as express the CC license the track is under

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE


David Nicol is Articles Editor for hupitgaming.com, YouTube gaming commentator and blogger based in the UK.

10 thoughts on “Who Needs Mainstream Anyway?

  1. I thought I had suggested creative commons, but sorry I didn’t. All the code I release is licensed similarly under the GPL and I love it.

    That said, my photos don’t have a Free license although I probably should as they’ve been stolen enough times … Might as well make usage clearer and easier.

  2. this is a great idea for you. I had assumed that you were getting permission for all the music in your videos. Most bands don’t need the “promotion” of having short pieces of music in video game clips.

  3. I’m also a big fan of creative commons and love the whole idea of music being part of that. I’m going to have to start using them in videos from now on.

    Also Dave that Dogma tune is brilliant! Nice find 🙂

  4. After posing my L4D2 video this morning I realised the music I used is CC licensed but requires derivate works to be licensed the same way.

    Unfortunately I don’t own the copyright on the other assets in the video: graphics and in-game sounds, and even David’s voice that you can hear sometimes. Technically I’m breaking the license terms by using that tune but it also brings up the wider issue of how to license gameplay videos from proprietary games.

    • That’s the thing with copyright, it’s clear cut when applied to commercial endeavours, but as soon as you start getting “complications” involved it all just turns in to one big grey area.

      Btw, you owe me one trillion Euro for using my voice.

Leave a Reply

