L4D2 and PC Gaming

I finally played Left For Dead 2 on the PC last night after downloading it last year (that sounds bigger than it is since last year was only a couple of days ago). It’s the first ‘modern’ game I’ve played on the PC for ages as I’m generally console only.

As such I didn’t really have any idea how to use this Steam thing that it runs through. It’s a great system as far as I can tell, but I don’t know what I’m doing on there. The game itself… I loaded it up and thought it best that I have a go on the single player, so clicked on campaign and it began to load up. But it seems that by campaign it meant online with other people. No problem since as soon as it loaded up the three guys who I assume were French by their tags voted to kick me out of the game. It’s nice to see that PC gaming is still full of arrogant elitist pricks (top tip: private lobby).

So I eventually found the proper single player. I’ve not played Left For Dead (the first one) so I don’t really know the story: infected sort of zombies and general nastiness? And it was even more confusing as to what I was supposed to be doing. Apparently the people who I was with had just fought their way to the top of the building to be rescued and then….. weren’t. Which is somewhat less than awesome. Especially as the hotel now resembles some frat-boy/rugby team/general out of control convention with running and screaming and things on fire and shooting and whatnot.

But I digress, I got out of the hotel and then delivered some Coke to a nutjob in a gun store and then joined TyeWebb online. It was good fun, except that the ingame chat is utter blowholes. A crackly static mess is the best way to describe it so we dumped it and used Skype instead.

There were many comedy moments, mostly revolving around being on fire and “Uh-oh I don’t think I should have jumped down here” type episodes. However, the real hero of the game was Coach. He was the one that consistently took out anything that was big and ugly – mostly before Tye or I could even get a shot off. Good old Coach.

So here’s some clips.

Let me know if you’d like to see more L4D2 gameplay, I think with four of us the game comms could be a source of uberhilarity (that’s humour times three to the power of awesomeness).

PS3 is still going to be my main gaming platform. The PC is handy for when I can’t get at the TV, and I was surprised at how well this machine runs games as it wasn’t built for that. But, if you’re on Steam, have L4D2 and would like to game some time then add me: evaDlivE

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE


David Nicol is Articles Editor for hupitgaming.com, YouTube gaming commentator and blogger based in the UK.

2 thoughts on “L4D2 and PC Gaming

  1. My bloody ‘net connection. I’ve watched the first 9 seconds of that video 3 times already.

    Must have a game of that some night with you and the guys. It’ll be fun! I bought the first game too when they were both in a bundle. The intro to that one has to be one of the best I’ve watched yet. That’s as far as I got in it though 🙂

Leave a Reply

