While PSN has been down

In case you haven’t noticed PSN has been down for a couple of days. I’ve been documenting the rumour mill surrounding the whys and wherefores over at backslashgaming.com, but we’ll come back to that in a minute.

In that time I, and every other PSN user (about 70 million of us apparently, which is more than the entire population of the UK) have been cut off from the life blood of gaming. The world is at an end and the sun never shines any longer. Well, that’s how some people have been viewing the situation.

I’ve been playing Assassin’s Creed II instead. I hadn’t actually intended on playing it as much as I have but I found that none of my save points were on my PS3. I don’t know whether it’s down to not being able to connect to PSN or because I’m using a new PS3 (although I could have sworn that the machine I’m on now was the one I used when playing the game before….).

But anyhoo, it’s been good fun as I forgot how involving and frustrating the early levels were. Involving because having read The Prince I could see where the plot was going, although honestly, you don’t have to be a master tactician to have worked out what was going to happen. Actually, a mediocre level of intelligence would probably have seen you through. And the frustration came from not being able to run in order to get through the Aspergo levels quicker, or being able to skip cut scenes, or being able to kick Shaun Hastings (played by Danny Wallace) in the groin.

Having oodles of hours already invested in the game (and the original before it) I found the ‘tutorial’ levels that make up the beginning to be quite enjoyable to play again. I just can’t wait to get back on a horse and start running fools over again. Driveby with a warhorse? Achievement Unlocked!

I may record some gameplay of it since I’m pretty much back to the start, but right now I’ve got quite a lurgical sore throat, so no commentaries from me for the time being.

While PSN has been down and I’ve had time to start on my way to looking at gaining some revenue from my online activities as I previously mused about in another post. After getting some excellent advice from both drunkindunkin and donncha I’ve launched BackslashGaming.com:

Basically it’s a more serious version of this blog. I’m going to continue blogging here about my personal gaming exploits, videos I put on YouTube and stuff relating to The Gamer’s Craic podcast. BackslashGaming is going to be more concerned with what’s happening in the gaming world. This means that currently most of the posts on there are related to the current PSN outage and the shitstorm that’s following it.

There are adverts on there which I hope are not too intrusive (staying away from popups, popunders and related doucheworthy tactics as they offend me). So if you enjoy my writing then have a look.

Lastly…. does anyone know why my post about FPSRussia getting his channel back would be getting so many hits at the moment? I’ve googled FPSRussia and this blog is not on the first page so I can only assume that it’s been linked from somewhere else.

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – MrCheapKills

David Nicol is Articles Editor for hupitgaming.com, YouTube gaming commentator and blogger based in the UK.

Why not check out my new gaming site: backslashgaming.com

4 thoughts on “While PSN has been down

  1. You might not have been able to get to your old Creed 2 saves because you couldn’t sign into PSN, just a guess. I do know those game saves have DRM on them making it a pain the ass to copy them from PS3 to PS3 so there might even be more nonsense related to that.

    When I googled FPSRussia you were on the 1st page and were the 1st result that wasn’t directly from him. Why you would be getting more hits from it right now is beyond me. Soon after was a yahoo answers link asking the age old question, is he really Russian?

    • I was quite surprised when my saves weren’t available as I’m fairly sure I was almost at the end of the game.

      As for fpsrussia, you must be getting different results to me. I get his channel, then twitter, then a number of hupit posts.

      • Google will tailor the results if you’re logged in as well. I get his Youtube videos for the first few links, then his twitter, then this blog.

  2. Congrats on the new site Dave, I must link to it from my own site and give some link love.

    I love the Assassin’s Creed games, loved every minute of it. I didn’t know Danny Wallace was in II.

    As for fpsrussia. Your site is on the first page in google.com which is what Tyewebb is seeing. You are probably being redirected to google.co.uk but your site isn’t on the 1st page (from what I see) and this is very normal. Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimisation 🙂

Leave a Reply

