Taking Names and Blocking IPs

On YouTube you know you’ve made it when you get your first thumb down for no apparent reason. For websites, you know you’re doing something right when the spam monsters descend upon thee with great comments and dodgy URLs.

Spam Monster

Spam and spam bots have moved on over the past couple of years and have adapted to take on the majority of anti-spam measures (although Akismet has to be THE BEST anti-spam thingymajig out there at the moment). However, as a semi-commercial endeavour I don’t have Akismet running on backslashgaming.com which means that all comments have to be moderated manually.

Initially it wasn’t that big a deal and some of the comments were mildly amusing with their generic praise for “the topic” and gems like this:

I can’t know how anyone can read this and not think “genius alert”. Great article. I’ll keep coming back to see even more.

But there are other comments that are essentially a pain in the ass, stuff like:

When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

and

I’m experiencing situation with ur rss . Don’t know why Struggling to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss problem? Anybody who is conscious of kindly respond. Thnkx

On the surface they could be genuine concerns. Until you look at the names/URLs that they use. Mr AirConditionerSales should not post from four different email addresses if he doesn’t want the same email four times… or even better, he shouldn’t post a lie to begin with since he’s not even signed up for emails.

And P90x aka ShoesOnline would have been having trouble with RSS as RSS wasn’t enabled at the time his spam bot was trawling my site.

So I’m now doing three strikes and your out on the site. If the same IP is used for spam three times it’ll be blocked. It’s not something that I wanted to do as its possible that the IPs could be spoofed which would mean potentially blocking genuine visitors. But I’m guessing that many of these comments are not from spoofed IPs but are from ‘click farms’ where people are paid to put links on the internet.

I’d like to be able to bill the cretins for the time it takes me to do all this – then I’d be able to afford Akismet (maybe in a couple of months…)

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – MrCheapKills

David Nicol is Articles Editor for hupitgaming.com, YouTube gaming commentator and blogger based in the UK.

Why not check out my new gaming site: backslashgaming.com

Leave a Reply

