Traditional Publishers: Surely You Jest?

reallyIn this post I regaled you all with my tale of how I queried Barnes&Noble, the Nooksters, about whether they intend to let UK authors publish using their pubit/nookpress service. That was, by the time I post this, four days ago. Interestingly, every other email I sent them has been answered within 24-48 hours so I imagine that they’re desperately searching their archives for a suitable response but are stuck on the keyword search using “sarcastic”, and “Brit”.

In the meantime I’ve received the THIRD email from Nook welcoming me to their fold. Thanking me for being the proud owner of a Nook. I guess the only reason they keep sending me these emails is because I haven’t bought any books from them yet.

Don’t hold your breath Barnes&Noble. It’s not going to happen.

The image at the top is a screenshot of the actual email I received today, and I’m going to be completely fair here and say that B&N are not alone in offering ebooks at eye wateringly inflated prices. Amazon is the same, and I imagine so is pretty much every other outlet out there. I’ve added a few bits to the image – the red values are by me, and so are the comparison prices below (they’re all from Amazon, while the red is the Nook price) – I’ve also mislabelled the Andy McNab book, that should be £10.90, not £10.99 (£10.90?! What a stupid price to begin with!).

With the exception of The Snow Child, the hard back version (the ‘collectors edition) is roughly the same price as the Nook version, while the paperback is mostly significantly cheaper.  So why should I buy an ebook version that I can then do nothing with, when I can get a nice hard back that can be added to my wonderful looking library?  Why is the ebook version the same, if not more expensive, than the hard back version?

I create and format ebooks. They are a damned sight easier to compile than a printed version (I’ve worked as printer/proofer too) and can be updated immediately without costly recalls, so why are consumers being made to pay a premium for them?  For the traditional publishers they really are the golden goose, but only as long as people pay the inflated price for them.  I can understand a physical copy being more expensive than the ebook version due to all the costs involved, but those costs just aren’t there for the electronic version and I personally feel that the publishers, the distributors, and the authors (yes, even the authors) are doing their readers a disservice by charging these stupid prices for them.

Oh, and another thing Barnes&Noble: when I can get a book for half the price you charge on the Kindle, do you really think I’m going to buy it for the Nook?  The answer is NO, by the way.

So what do you think? What do you think is a reasonable price for an ebook, that once you’ve read your’re stuck with (unless this happens)? 

Don’t forget, ‘Lament for the Living’ is out on May 10th – get a sneak peek at the first chapter for FREE!

Currently it’s .prc (DRM free for Kindle) or .pdf only.
Kindle/.prc – Download Here
PDF – Download Here

Download, read, enjoy. Let me know what you think.

While you’re waiting for ‘Lament for the Living’ to be released the following titles are also available:
Hannibal House by David Nicol   The Deluge of Elias by David Nicol
For more information and purchasing links please visit:
www.tbfmedia.com/bibliography

Leave a Reply

