Augmented Reality – the healthy way to eat sweets

In my last video on YouTube I mentioned sweets and asked what the viewers liked to eat, sweetie-wise. If you missed the video, then here it is [cue shameless self promotion]

The responses I had were varied and there seems to be a difference in what sweets are between the US and Europe. Sweets to us are what Americans call candy, but it’s all good – I learned about some different types of cake. Mmmm cake.

Which brings me neatly on to exactly what this post is about. I’m one of those lucky people who doesn’t tend to put weight on. You can’t fatten a thoroughbred, or so the saying goes (although I think it has more to do with the fact that I have a very healthy relationship to food).

But what if you’re a gamer who’s not really getting enough exercise and you spend all your time popping Skittles. As your belly bursts through another pair of sweat pants you check on your favourite tech shopping site and find this:

Augmented reality – blurring the doors of perception in 2010.

I think that it’s pretty cool, and halfway through I did get a little bit excited. But then I realised something….. I don’t play video games to run around the room or scoot around a table. I spend enough time running around as it is. There’s a Nintendo Wii gathering dust on the shelf because I (and we in the house) play games to relax. Punching the wife in the face while pulling my hamstring might be fun for certain sectors of society, and footballers (translation: soccer players), but that’s not what gaming is about for me.

The concept is really interesting, and integrating Skittles is a fantastic marketing and advertising tool (they must have vetoed the Pepsi Riot Cannon in earlier drafts). I don’t know if anyone remembered many years ago Barcode Battler…. I didn’t have it or its many clones but over the years there have been many variations upon the theme of using everyday resources to empower your toy. This Augmented Reality concept could very well be the next step and a real way for companies to increase their visibility and relevance using technology and games (if augmented reality applications become common place).

Peas and loaves.

Want to know how to comment on or subscribe to this blog? Click here.

Find me on PSN – evaDlivE


David Nicol is Articles Editor for hupitgaming.com, YouTube gaming commentator and blogger based in the UK.

1 thoughts on “Augmented Reality – the healthy way to eat sweets

  1. Well, if that’s what you were asking, I like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and a local thing would be Maple Candy (tastes like Maple Syrup) or white chocolate with little bits of lobster meat.

    Can’t see a lot of people buying this “walk around the table” game. A heavy gamer’s gonna have back issues from leaning over all that time 😛 It IS an interesting development, though.

Leave a comment